If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Abies koreana

Another day round home, however the weather made a wander round a reasonable prospect.  So obviously that is what I did.  The Christmas tree caught my eye.  For a few years now we have used the same one growing in a pot.

Abies koreana (sorry I have always known it by the scientific name I suppose the English is Korean Fir) produces cones while it is still quite small.  This one is only about 1 m (36") from the top of the pot to the growing point.  What I find interesting is the change 3 or 4 weeks indoors has brought.  New shoots on the end of the twigs.  Also there was no sign of the flowers when we took it in, these are the female flowers.  The males are lower down on the twig tips and very insignificant.  Last years cone (1 of the 2) is just left of centre at the bottom.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.