As the water receded

Another visit to the Southend mudflats as the tide was rapidly ebbing. First to feature was a juvenile karoro (black-backed gull), and then ducks and herons. From a distance, I fancied that the ducks were not alone. There were one or two whitefaced herons with them, and then I spotted the kuaka (godwits). Only six or seven, which is few by the evidence of previous years. Two kawau paka (little pied shag) were drying off, and allowed me to get really quite close.

My choice from all the photos I took was this one of a kuaka walking across a shallow pool to the next shellbank.


Late this afternoon we were joined at the beachhouse by C and her two boys. They wanted to go down to our beach (as we call it) for a swim. J and I accompanied them and the two young Tsukens. A great time in the incoming tide.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.