Swans A Swimming

Today was the day, for that thing that I may live to regret.  I had to set the alarm and get up earlier than I would have on a normal Saturday, especially when BB didn’t have any football.  I got my running gear on and we headed into Edinburgh, for very late on Wednesday night I had decided to enter to Great Winter Run – it’s only 5K, but it is round Arthur’s Seat.  I haven’t taken part in an organised run for years and I haven’t run round Arthur’s Seat for years.  We timed it well, so there wasn’t much hanging around.  The warm up was the most enjoyable part of the event for me!  The uphill was brutal, and I really could have prepared myself better for it.  Anyway, I didn’t plan for the race and my limited preparation was not ideal -  but I did it, and I was glad to finish.  There was lots of running going on all day, but we didn’t hang around.  We headed for home, stopping off to do a supermarket shop on our way.  I don’t imagine Paula Radcliff has to do that after a race!

BB admired my medal (he had been anxious that I didn’t have one!) and TT cooked a great brunch.  We watched some of the cross country on TV in the afternoon – I did note that they didn’t have any big hills to run up!

BB went off with a friend in the hope of getting a game of badminton – they didn’t but did some trampolining instead.  I then went out for the things we had forgotten this morning, and TT started a marathon cooking session.  He got a spice/recipe kit for Christmas and he decided to make use of it today.  The meal was fabulous - butter chicken and mushroom bhaji along with salad, raita, homemade mango chutney  and homemade paratha.  We both ate far too much, then retired to the sofa and watched Trainspotting 2 with a glass of fizz to celebrate my success!

This is a tranquil view of St Margaret’s Loch after the race, looking over to the ruined St Anthony's Chapel.  The extras show my medal and signs of our first snowdrops.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.