Blue Monday? Bah Humbug!

Apparently today is Blue Monday - something totally made up with no scientific basis, but it’s been talked about all day on the radio - “listen to US and you’ll survive Blue Monday” - that kind of thing.

Well we all know this time of year can be hard, especially in the northern hemisphere. Our days are short and dark and many have colds or the flu. Maybe we overspent at Christmas and bills are coming in. Maybe we’ve eaten too much at Christmas or we’re already failing to keep our New Year’s resolutions. So I can see why the winter blues or January blues would hit just about now.

It’s been raining on and off all day today and it’s been particularly dark. I also got engrossed in a task that was keeping me from everything else I was wanting to get done today, so I was feeling a bit frustrated. I finally made a break and escaped the house to run a couple of errands. I threw the wellies into the car at the last minute as the clouds were breaking up and the sun was beginning to set. I thought I might just get a quick walk in as my first stop.

Wow! I’m sure glad I did!! Look at that sky! I wasn’t feeling particularly blue today but when I am, walking and getting fresh air usually lifts my spirits even if there’s no great colour in the sky. But today was just a mood-booster in overdrive!! It wasn’t a long walk - 20 minutes or so. I had to rush off to get somewhere before they closed, or I would have doubled that time. But it’s all I needed to put a big grin on my face.

Sunsets - a perfect antidote to a blue-anyday!

(See Extra photo for an alternative and also beautiful view looking the other way)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.