Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Border Patrol Checkpoint II

This is a wider view of the Border Patrol checkpoint on Interstate 19 heading north from Mexico. It's about 25 miles north of the border near Tubac, AZ.

I've blipped it before, here. But I think today's shot is pretty awesome. Check it out in a larger view. Nice!

I've driven through it probably hundreds of times, but today I noticed the incredible beauty as I approached it. I didn't think quickly enough to stop at an appropriate spot for a good shot, so I passed through it and drove to the next exit, turned back on the highway and pulled over to take the photo.

(If you want more information about the checkpoint, read the previous blip. I personally think it's stupid. Look how easy it would be to get around it if you were a bad guy.)

That tall thing on the right with the square on the top is radar looking for ultra-light aircraft which is often used by smugglers.

I also counted 19 signs. Government overkill?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.