Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Paper, scissors, stone

It may be general, gun and raised hands in Myanmar, but I’m not sure.

This morning we visited the famous Shwedagon Pagoda, arriving before dawn. It was soon light and the we had time to explore the amazing site and talk to/photograph people.

There were groups of young nuns sitting in groups and chanting. We had seen then in the streets yesterday as they went from shop to shop, begging for alms.

This group sat chanting for well over an hour. As the chant continued I was amused to see the two girls on the end enjoying a game that looked for all the world like rock, scissors, paper. The older nun with the group seemed unaware of what was going on.

We came back for breakfast, then took a little train out to a village 45 minutes away to see their market. This was much poorer and the stench was at times overwhelming. I saw a shot I wanted and as I hurried around a stall, one foot slipped off the firm surface of flour sacks and I went half way up my calf into a thick soupy mixture. The smell was horrible and the liquid contained leftovers from the fresh fish stalls. A very helpful local came and showed me where to find running water. He helped me to wash the trainer and gave me washing liquidd to help the job.

The good news I’d that I did not get around to buying new trainers for this trip........... I am pretty confident they will go into the bin before my return to the UK. I just have to dry them out ASAP.

Please see yesterday’s blip too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.