MUCH older than me.

165 years in fact. 
I almost forgot it; it should have been done LAST year, on its 240th Birthday.
It was left to Mam, by a none-relative, on the grounds that:-
"If anybody'll get it to work lahl Alice will."

She was right, lahl Alice did. 
By dint of employing a mechanic/engineer friend, "he'll" maybe correct me but I think George(?) Armstrong ex Workington Steelworks.
 (For us kids the surname was spot on)
It ran for years on a "Lash-up" pendulum and a Sash-window weight with an added tube/sleeve of copper to get weight about right.
I feel honour-bound to try and do the same.
A mighty task indeed.

P.S. I intended to say "Large is contra indicated", as you'll see where I rubbed out the high Bathroom window. Having seen it here I did a far better job than I initially thought.
Returned to add:-
The brass plaque reads:-
John AND Peggy 
Parkin 1777

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.