ClickSnapSmile

By KirstyHalbert

Home Sweet Home.

A day off work today... But it was not a lazy day. We woke up early and headed into town; me to buy cleaning products and curtains and M to finish a quick handman job at one of the bars he used to work in. Even though he's long since left bars for oil and gas, moving from boat to rig to office, his old colleagues rely on him for the fixing of floors, doors and locks. He's very useful! Unfortunately I was completely useless this morning; a managed to get a bit of grit in my eye that wouldn't budge for about an hour. It was incredibly sore, and I looked like I was in constant floods of tears - rubbish. Eventually I managed to do the shopping I needed (most of the time in sunglasses, while apologising to cashiers for winking at them) and M helped me wash out my eye with water and an egg cup when we got home. Such an uncomfortable (and wet) experience, but it worked and an hour later I was back to normal. What a pest!

After sorting myself out, we packed up loads of boxes and shifted them to the new house. By the end of teh day, the only thing we seemed to have succeeded in was making a mess of both the old flat AND the new house. Still, there are another two days of our weekend left to fix it!

At the end of the day we ordered in an amazing curry from Westend Tandoori (easily the best curry place in Aberdeen - they do a great lamb keema with peas, my favourite) and ate at our new dining table, sitting on our new dining chairs. Satisfaction in the extreme! After tea we laid the fire and had a glass of wine on the sofa, in our dressing gowns and slippers. I could get used to that...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.