Fire and Ice

Dear Diary,

The temperatures didn't rise as predicted so the rain that fell turned immediately to ice coating everything it touched and bringing down branches and trees on power lines.  I've been out of power since noon yesterday.  Thankfully, my trusty generator has kept the lights, heat and computer on!  The internet was out for a little while yesterday but came right back.  I hope the power does to for as wonderful as my generator is, it doesn't do everything.

Mr and Mrs Cardinal came for a visit and I was able to capture them together on the ice covered branches in Auntie's tree.  I used my old camera for this.  I thought they look so lovely.  They even came to the feeder which they don't usually do preferring to gather their seeds on the ground.

The snow was coated with a layer of ice so I threw out seeds and the birds and squirrels slid around gathering them.  Quite comical really.  In an ice storm you have to find humor where you can!  They didn't seem to let the cold, freezing rain slow them down one little bit.  Can't say the same for me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.