Tootsie and Tillie Pay a Visit

Dear Diary,

It has been awhile since my two wild turkeys, Tootsie and Tillie, paid me a visit.  They were having a bit of trouble with the snow.  Occasionally, they would sink in but they recovered nicely and enjoyed finding the seeds I put out for them.  Tootsie, the only one brave enough to do so, even hopped up on the porch to feed from the seed bowls, much to the squirrels dismay.

It seems that every winter I become obsessed with something.  Last year it was ice, this year it is feathers.  You may not think wild turkeys are "pretty" facially but there is no disputing the beauty of their feathers.  I've added a close-up so you can see the detail.  The lovely iridescence of the feathers is amazing.  You can see their heads are different colors.  Turkeys head color can change from red to blue to almost white from time to time.  The Korean's call them the "seven faced bird".  I just call them my woodland friends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.