A Long Walk

This empty corridor belies the fact that the hospital was extremely busy when I took Mom there for an appointment this afternoon.  They seem to have a very good system for moving people through the hospital gradually and each time we have been recently we have been seen promptly and efficiently.  We have been treated with kindness and consideration as the staff pick up on the ways in which Mom needs support and understanding! Not to mention daughter who is trying to navigate the system without causing undue distress and fear!

I still haven't been brave enough to attempt these trips without having someone to go and park the car for me.  There never seem to be sufficient wheelchairs around and although there is a golf buggy to ferry people from the car park to the hospital, I haven't worked out that system yet!

So, today we went for a Fibroscan!  Sounds like something to do with Allbran.  It wasn't, but it was quick and painless.  It showed that Mom has not fat in her liver but that there is some hardening.  That number was too high so the results will now go back to the consultant who will decide on the next step.  A bit of me wonders about all this.  How much does it cost?  Is it really necessary?  I suppose I will find out eventually.

On a different task.  We are due a visit from Social Services tomorrow to see if any help of any kind is available for Mom.  I will let you know!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.