CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Another flush of morning glory flowers

It is another Flower Friday Challenge day so I brought my morning glory plant downstairs from my study, where it normally sits on the windowsill getting as much light as possible and enjoys the heat from the radiator. Any follower of my irregular blips may remember that I planted some seeds from last year's flowers back in the autumn on the off chance of them sprouting and giving me some winter delights. I love morning glory flowers and grow them whenever I can, although this was the first time I had planted seeds I'd actually grown.

This plant was the only seed which sprouted and grew in a tray of twelve small plugs, which I blipped at the time. The compost in the rest of the plugs was distributed around other plant growing in pots to replenish the soil. Now I have at least six new morning glory plants in various stages of growth an din rather odd positions, nestling amongst other plants.

This first plant was given a dead stalk from the garden for it to grow up as morning glory demand a climbing frame. Within a few weeks the dead stalk became a newly growing forsythia branch with copious small leaves and little branches growing away from the stem. Then another morning glory appeared from the same compost having decided to wait several months to sprout and take root.

Now these three plants have outgrown the tiny pot I planted them in and I have now repotted them, all together, as they seem very happy like that, and returned them to the windowsill in my study.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.