The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Inside the windmill

With Mandy, Elspeth and Huub in Rolde, Netherlands. Mandy and her husband Huub live here. Elspeth and I arrived from the Uk, via Amsterdam, yesterday. Another friend, Haidi, is arriving by train later. We were all at school together, apart from Huub. 'Teuchters and Farmers' Class of '81 (Teuchter is an expression meaning highlander).

After a brunch of cheese and eggs on toast, cooked by the Divine Miss Mandy, we went for a circular walk around the village of Rolde and the outlying woods. First stop was the windmill in the heart of the village. It is open once a month to visitors. There aren't enough millers left to run it commercially.

Everything I know about windmills is derived from watching Trumpton or Camberwick Green, featuring a character called Windy Miller, but this knowledge proved useful, and I enjoyed our brief tour. These bottles contain different types of grain, I think.

Our walk wasn't strenuous but it tired me out. I'm sick of this consumption or whatever...My brother is coming over tomorrow. Now, back to the drinking...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.