The Quire

I woke up about 7am and looked outside and saw the sky was pink, so I quickly pulled on my clothes and headed out with my camera while Alan was still asleep.  I only intended to wander through the grounds, but asked one of the security guards if I could access the old walls from the garden.  He said I'd have to go out and walk to Fenwick's department store just a short distance away, and there I'd find an entrance to the walls.  It was such a lovely, frosty morning and all the birds were singing, so I decided to go.

In the meantime Alan woke up and wondered where I was, but then looked to see if my camera bag was there, and as it wasn't, he knew where I'd be.  I was only gone an hour at the most, and once I was back we went down for breakfast.

After we checked out, we went to the Cathedral and spent a few hours wandering through the grounds, the cloisters and then finally inside.  It's an amazing place and we found the volunteers to be very friendly and informative.   I took the opportunity to have a play with my prime lens, and chose this shot of the hymm books as my blip today.  This part of the cathedral is called The Quire and is over 800 years old!

I wanted to call at Knole Deer Park on the way home seeing as we were so close, so we set left Canterbury about 2pm  but unfortunately the weather changed and it started raining quite heavily, and by the time we got there it was really windy too.  We didn't bother getting out of the car, but luckily we saw the deer a the side of the road, so Alan stopped the car and I opened my window and managed to get a few shots without getting wet.

We've had a relaxing night at home with an Indian takeaway.  The boys have had a good time with Charlotte the dog sitter, and are so tired that they haven't moved all evening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.