Kaffee Stopp and a good day

After the late night we met at 10 am in the kitchen and had a slow morning. Pe's household is a relaxed one. We chatted, had coffee until early afternoon, then she went off to her dance training. I had googled some coffee places and found a roaster in Birkenau (not the infamous one) which I decided to visit. The hipster coffee culture has not hit my home area yet and roasters are a rare breed. I found the place after driving past 3 times and enjoyed some really nice coffee and chatted with the owner. It was very quiet but I liked the space.
After drinking and buying coffees I drove into Weinheim and walked through the town centre. It is a lovely town, but very much stuck to its ways.
The centre piece, the Marktplatz (see extra), looks still like 30 years ago when I was at school. Same restaurants, cafés AND the same faces sitting there. Incredible. I even met a guy I used to see at the gym 25 years ago!
I waked through the pedestrian zone and went to a (new) clothes shop to have a look and left with a few tops that were on sale. Then walked to a cafe-bistro, where I used to work 25 years ago. Uwe, the owner was standing outside at his mini ice rink where he sold Glühwein. I think I had not seen him for 20 years! He did recognise me and we had a quick catch up. I felt a bit like caught by my own history!
I walked back to the car, it was after 5 in the meantime, and Weinheim was deserted. 
Pe was already back when I returned and her 2 men (husband Christian and dance partner Andy) were playing darts.
We had a cup of tea and then I was cooked for deliciously,
The cooking was fully done by the men! (other extra).
We had a great evening with lovely food and wine!
Andy even made Crepes Suzettes as desert. They were delicious.
Pe's son Julius is almost 14 now and has become a very bight teenager - maybe a bit too bright even .... but great fun!
We retired after midnight. Full and happy!

My blip is the coffee roasters Kaffee Stopp,.
Extras:  Weinheim Marktplatz and the 2 chefs cooking for us in Wallace and Gromit fashion :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.