A bullfinch waiting for spring

This afternoon I made a cup of tea and sat down in the dining room to spend an hour adding our contribution to the RSPB Annual Garden Birdwatch. I had topped up the various bird feeders hoping that it would attract the largest number of birds. 

The weather improved and at last some sun began to shine, and I couldn't resist getting my camera and opening the patio door to let me take pictures of birds on the tray just outside. Then I saw that there were more on the lower patio so ended up walking down the steps. I'm glad I did as the birds seemed to be delighted with the warmer conditions and many were singing from their high perches.

I managed to photograph many of the different birds including two nuthatches, long-tailed tits, a dunnock, two blackbirds, robins and tits galore. But the most impressive moment was when a huge flock of goldfinches gathered in the sycamore before flying all around the garden in a big circle. I counted at least thirty of them and when they perched high in the tree I took some pictures just to count them all again. They did fly off in dribs and drabs and then I finally got some close-ups of one particular goldfinch perched on a nearby branch as it sang sweetly to its friends.

Then this bullfinch came and perched close to the house and despite knowing I was there it stayed for several minutes with the beautiful blue sky as a background. I do like them and we feel so lucky to see them here everyday usually as a pair. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.