Spring has Sprung

Amid all the mud and glaur in the Meadows caused by the recent wet weather, the crocuses are beginning to rear their heads, rather earlier than usual, I feel.
As I tried to find some that hadn’t been trampled or damaged by the ice, I noticed a little group of lonesome snowdrops which don’t usually grace the Meadows.

Many years ago when my children were still at the local primary school, the classes there planted the bulbs in the grass along the roadway. I don’t imagine they did it all but themselves, there must have been council help in order to give the colourful carpet we usually get in March.

I notice the daffodils planted elsewhere in the Meadows are shooting up through the soaking leaf drop and some even look to be in bud, almost as if to celebrate the end of a cheerless January.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.