Acres of cars

Back to Helsinki today. I went via Oslo, which was an interesting option. It worked out quite well - the connection is quite short, but you have to (a) go through security again (you don't have to when changing in Schiphol or Charles de Gaulle any more) and (b) walk from one end of the airport to the other. Now admittedly it isn't that big an airport, and I read today about the benefits of 'Active 10s' - that is short sharp walks of 10 minutes, so I got at least one of those in today. But I do find going through security tedious. Of all of the times I've been through security in airports since my knee operation, I think I've only not set off the alarm in the body scanner once. That's an awful lot of hand searches that I've had to put up with (and an awful lots of times when I've had to take off my shoes, which I generally do proactively in Edinburgh Airport, for example). At the point when half the population starts to have something prosthetic, they are going to have to do something to recognise that you cannot body search every single person with a prosthesis of some sort.

Oslo was experiencing a snow storm, but I didn't manage to get a good image of the parade of the snow ploughs around the airport apron. That snow will be here tomorrow.


Lots of reading and writing over the next few days. And some exercise that will be a wee bit more vigorous than an Active 10. But missing Mr A.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.