The Old Forge (Thursday 1st February 2018)

I found some clumps of snowdrops in Castlefields Park yesterday when I went into Calne to vote in a local referendum. I got some shots of them but figured they will still be there another day so I have put them in the Blip Memory Bank.
I had the right camera with me to get shots of Eric the peregrine on the church tower so of course he wasn't there. I took a picture of a tree in the churchyard instead, which I have put in Extras.
I mentioned the other day that I had seen a new kind of finch in the garden that I hadn't got a good enough view of to make an identification, and I saw it again yesterday actually on the feeders for the first time, and was able to get a couple of shots of it from the kitchen. There were two panes of glass between me and the birds so the picture is not the clearest, but clearly shows that it is a greenfinch. I think there may be two or three of them visiting the garden. I have chosen this Diary Blip as a record of the day's discovery.

L.
2.2.2018 (1422 hr)

Blip #2572 (#2322 + 250 archived blips taken 27.8.60-18.3.10)
Consecutive Blip #004
Blips/Extras In 2018 #015/265 + #3/100 Extras)
Day #2872 (552 gaps from 26.3.10)
LOTD #1715 (#1557 + 158 on archived blips)

Birdfeeder series
Birds series
Old Forge series
Diary Blip series

Taken with Nikon Coolpix P900 (24-2000mm equivalent bridge camera)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
The Temptations - Psychedelic Shack (recorded 21 November - 6 December 1969, Hitsville Studio, Detroit MI)
R.I.P. Dennis Edwards (3 February 1943, Fairfield AL - 1 February 2018, Chicago IL)
Dennis Edwards was with the Temptations throughout their psychedelic and funk periods produced by Norman Whitfield, starting with Cloud Nine in 1968, and including songs such as Papa Was A Rolling Stone, Ball Of Confusion and this one. I've chosen the full-length mix that wasn't released until 2003. It includes an excerpt from another single, I Can't Get Next To You - a very early use of sampling.
Psychedelic Shack (song)(Wikipedia page)


One Year Ago:
The Old Forge

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.