SILLY SATURDAY - THREE LITTLE PIGS X 2

As we didn’t go up to Jack’s last Saturday morning, we decided that we would go up today and meet up with our various friends.  By the time Trevor and his wife, Louise had joined us, together with Gary and then Marie - it was quite noisy, but it was great to see everyone - and we mustn’t forget Margaret, who sits on a table on her own and just watches us getting up to our antics chatting.

I had been on the lookout for something for Silly Saturday and had seen the three moneybox pigs in the window of the Oink Gallery, which is opposite Jack’s, when we were in Old Town the other day.  As I needed to go to the Post Office, I left Mr. HCB, Trevor and Gary chatting and went out to post my various cards.

I thought I would take the opportunity to pop into the Prospect Charity Shop and saw the ornament of the three little pigs looking over a fence - priced at £15.  However, next door in Oink, the three pigs were somewhat more expensive - the black one was marked £175, the gold one £215 and you may remember that the silver one that I blipped on 30th December was £220.  

Looking at them all, now they are in a collage, I think I would prefer either the gold or silver one, because at least they would be useful and I could save my pound coins - but then again, if I bought the pigs from the charity shop, I would be helping that particular charity.  What a dilemma!  In the end I didn’t buy any of them, but went and spent quite a lot of money on stuff to keep the mozzies away from us when we go away.  

It’s a dull and dreary day again today, and when Gary was chatting to us, he told us his son had just left northern Vietnam where the temperatures were very low for the time of year.  More dilemmas - what sort of clothing should we take?  It’s got just over two weeks to get warmer, so perhaps we will wait and see what happens just before we pack.

"I learned long ago, 
     never to wrestle with a pig. 
You get dirty, and besides, 
     the pig likes it."
George Bernard Shaw

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.