Chalmers chimneys

Doing a bit of DIY this morning, putting up a new curtain rail, but when the sun came out after lunch I thought I'd take advantage of it! I walked up to 'the Hydro', the ruins of Oban's proposed Hydropathic Hotel, and having arrived at the best viewpoint just as the sun went in, had to wait for quite some time for it to re-emerge for a few pictures. 

It's probably the place place from which to view almost the whole of Oban - this is a tele-shot of Argyll Mansions. This is said to be Scotland's finest tenement and was built between 1905 and 1907 for the drapery company Chalmers, who still ocupy the ground floor. It was designed by the same architects who were responsible for the famous Templeton's Carpet Factory in Glasgow.

I took a few pictures of the Hydro - see extra - and then walked down to the town. On the way back home, at the top of Jacob's Ladder, I met a very rare species - a policeman on the beat! He was very affable, so I bent his ear about my usual hobbyhorse, rubbish, and he promised to try to fit in some foot patrols along the Black Lynn at High School lunchtime. I'm sure it's not up to him, but at least he listened in a friendly manner!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.