Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

White-breasted Nuthatch

These guys are quite common in most of North America.  Sometimes I wonder how birds get their names. (Wow, I really need to get a life.)   I did a little research to see if there was a simple explanation for nuthatches - and there is.  Nuthatches will manage to stuff large seeds and nuts into tree bark.  Then they poke and poke at them until the edible part is "hatched"; hence, the nut-hatch!   I'm going to watch them more closely now when I see them climbing up and down trees.

Next weekend is the Italian Catholic Federation (ICF) annual lasagna dinner.  I have to sell tickets for it before and after today's 4:00 mass.  After Mass will be the installation of the officers from three ICF branches followed by dinner in the church hall.  I guess that's one way to get me to church this weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.