Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Joe

Joe is a great guy.   I always give him a big hug.  Joe suffers from Parkinson's Disease.  Despite its progression, he doesn't let that stop him. Now unsteady and having more difficulty speaking, he still does the driving in the family.  He's fiercely independent. 

Joe and his wife, Barb, always take the 7 am Mass shift for ICF whenever we're selling things, whether it's tickets to the Lasagna Dinner, which it was today, or our Italian cookie sales.  No one ever signed up to work with them, I suppose because they won't get up that early.  Several years ago, I started to raise my hand to help.

Today Joe knew that I was probably going to stay for the next two Masses.  Knowing how cold I was when they left,  he went to Starbucks and brought me a coffee.

Joe has the Italian Catholic Federation title of Sentinel.  His job is to greet and welcome people as they arrive for our meetings.  It is a job for which he is well suited.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.