a lifetime burning

By Sheol

"Rows after rows of passenger planes
Headed out again, running all in vain
Motel blues, only bad news
I'm never looking for you
You find me all the same

I lay awake at night envisioning
A trace from the past
This heavy heart of mine, it never fails
To bring me right back

Now I see us walking down Cedar Lane
Slow in the sunshine fast in the rain
Time moved so swiftly all of those days
I still remember how you used to say
"Something good will come out of this"

Coast after coast, cities and states
My world's an empty map where nothing remains
The place we belonged is quietly gone
While we were making plans, it drifted away

I lie awake at night envisioning
A trace from the past
This heavy heart of mine, it never fails
To bring me right back

Now I see us walking down Cedar Lane
Slow in the sunshine fast in the rain
Time moved so swiftly all of those days
I still remember how you used to say
"Something good will come out of this"

How could I break away from you?"

First Aid Kit ~ Cedar Lane

The Weatherman's promises held true this morning, and we did indeed have a stop to rain, and yes, even some patchy sunshine in the cold wind.  Cathy and I took advantage and went for a brisk walk along the local lanes which made us both feel a lot better about life.  There's not much sign of any greening of the trees as yet, its still much too cold for that.  But even the bare branches look better in the sunshine :-)

I'm afraid that the trees here are not Cedars so First Aid Kit's song of lost love is perhaps not that appropriate to a sunny winter's day.  But I do love the way the two Söderberg sisters' (Klara and Johanna) voices intertwine with such delightful harmonies and the lyric "Now I see us walking down Cedar Lane Slow in the sunshine fast in the rain"  has been running through my head all day.  Sometimes the best way to get rid of an "earworm" is to share it with others :-). Just in case you've not come across First Aid Kit before, there's a link to a live performance above.  Their musicianship is exemplary - I've not come across a live performance on YouTube that is less than excellent.

Right, that's enough gushing from me, I've got ironing to do!  I hope that you are all enjoying your weekends wherever you are.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.