WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

It's not snowing

That's all I've got to say about today. It's perishingly cold though, 3C when I went out this morning with a stiff wind off the Pyrenees to make it feel colder than that. Although my Tuesday walk wasn't cancelled, I chickened out ... it would not have been a pleasure. However I did go to my yoga class, so I got a bit of physical activity in.

The sun peeped warily out of the clouds in the afternoon, so I decided to take my new lens for a ride. I couldn't find any very inspiring subjects though. And on the way back, along a dirt track through the vines, I managed to incur a puncture which I didn't notice until I reached a bit of tarmac and wondered what that strange rumbling was. One flayed tyre. I dumped the car by the cemetery in the village and walked home. 

S phoned our insurer, who said we could get the wheel changed for us for free, so why go out and shiver in the cold trying to figure out a jack we have never used in the seven years we've had the car? However we couldn't get through to the breakdown service, probably because they were inundated with calls from people stuck in the 600 km of traffic jams in snowbound Ile de France. What the heck, we don't need the car urgently, so we'll just phone them tomorrow.

In other news I talked to R for the first time in over 30 years  -- weird!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.