misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

A Big Snow

Everything that moves is shut down in our county and the Southern Tier of NY State! Snow!!
Because all the roads are closed and unploughed there is no traffic and all of us are stuck in our houses. That is actually a rare situation.
No schools today. No bus service. I think it will be a three day storm, but this Wednesday one has the greatest accumulations..
I missed my chance to get a Rx refill yesterday afternoon and it will probably be until the weekend before I get shoveled out and can drive again!
My old friends (I mean white haired wrinklies) who live out in the countryside after plowing and hand shoveling themselves out on Monday, came into the village and surprised me by shoveling me out too.
Alas, my usual neighbour who has a great Kubota earth/snow mover has gone down south to Kentucky for two months!! I am now too disabled to shovel my own snow.
This blip of my front walk and steps this morning was entirely empty of snow on Monday after my friends cleared the old snow away.
It gives you an idea of how much snow has fallen since 4 a.m. and is still coming down at noon. It is not stopping until after dark. My warm house and plenty of food are not a problem. Comfortable here inside.
Last night I drove out to my friends home and brought a nicely cooked chicken dinner and a berry pie to share with them. This is the same home where lives Miss Maggie the cat blipped recently taking over the dog's bed.
Today I have watched beautiful arrangements of snowflakes and birds at the feeder. It's a true winter day here in the NY Catskill Mountains.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.