Onwards and upwards....

By Yana1

1202. Metering Homework...

Have spent most  of the afternoon trying to get what I wanted from the ring flash that I had on loan yesterday and I've come to the conclusion that it isn't going to do what I expected it to...yes it does obliterate shadows on macro shots but as I enjoy photographing jewellery...it also obliterates sparkle too...not what I want....so I'm going to return it tomorrow and ask about a more powerful LED light.   I have a small one for travelling which is brilliant and works for most shots where I need a bit of extra light...but I think I'll try out a more powerful one...

I have been continuing my homework for the online course I'm doing, A Year With My Camera....this week's lesson is on metering and I've not actually tried the homework yet but have been playing around with my manual settings and taking much more notice of the histogram than I ever have before.

This image was taken on manual again as I'm trying to deal with any exposure issues I may have purely on manual at the moment as I slowly get used to controlling more of the image BEFORE I press the shutter button....I did discover that on my camera what I see on the screen is not necessarily what impact the settings have on my image...until I press the shutter part way and then the histogram shows what the shot will be....I'm sure I can set it so that I can see the impact of the settings through the viewfinder but have not managed to find out where I do this on the menu system...it will be there because I've done it before when I've been using ND filters...back to the manual and a quick check on YoutTube to see if I can see any helpful videos on doing this!

This is a beautiful medal I bought in Sydney in July 2016...It is actually silver but the centre looks bronze....I'm pretty chuffed with this image as it's almost straight out of the camera...a wee bit of clipping sorted and it has been cropped and a little bit of blur on the background....I'm getting there...very slowly!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.