Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Brampton Walkers are Welcome

Every month I see the details of the Brampton Walkers are Welcome walks. They go out on the second Sunday of the month. There is always something that has stopped me from joining them.

Today I was free and wanting to do more walking. They had a 6 mile walk from Blenkinsopp Castle Inn, looping up (up and up) to the Hadrian's Wall Trail and back via Walltown Quarry.

They made me feel very welcome and I had interesting conversations with a number of people. The leader (seen here pointing ahead) had checked the route yesterday when it was pretty muddy. Overnight there was heavy rain and you can see the result. 

Being intrepid types, we found a way around  and only a small percentage of the group had wet feet by the end. 

It was bitterly cold on Hadrian's Wall Trail at the west end of the Nine Nicks of Thirlwall, which is always a windy, exposed section of the Trail.

My extra is taken looking east. You can see other walkers on the Trail to give you some idea of the scale.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.