Ta Prohm

This isn't necessarily my favourite image of the day, but I chose it for my blip because, I suspect like many people, this was the image I had in my mind of the Angkor temples before I actually visited them. Ta Prohm is an example of how the jungle took over and grew around, within and through the temples when they were abandoned.  The roots of the trees wrap themselves around and through the buildings and make some intriguing scenes.

This temple is, of course, well known from the "Tomb Raider" film with Lara Croft (Angelina Jolie). 

Inevitable, the site is busy with visitors, so photogaphing the more iconic scenes can be quite tricky.  I get the feeling that most visitors are anxious to have their photographs taken in front of the temples, rather than taking photographs of the temples themselves.  Selfie sticks abound.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.