Gitama's World

By Gitama

Splash.....A Therapy Horse

Today I was invited to a very old friends farm to photograph her Therapy horses. I fell in love.
I had heard of therapy dogs before...(Jen from Jensphotos has Hamish and Poppy) but not horses.
There are 5 of them and she uses them in her trauma therapy work....she told me that they really earn their keep especially the master healer Troubador ......OMGoodness what a beautiful horse he was...he was curious about me and the black box with a thing poking out the front and when we weren't looking he had a nibble on my friends sun umbrella...there were things I think he wanted to tell me .
Not really being used to horses  Troubador wanted to get up close and personal....I got a wee bit uncomfortable to have this huge stallion so close and basically in my space wanting to smell and nuzzle me...when I felt a bit more confident he let me kiss him on his soft velvety nose.

She took me around her incredibly gorgeous property in a buggy thing...jeez! it was a bit like being at Movie World on a roller coaster........I held my camera very tight.
Up at the top of the property the silence was like a big soft feather bed .....we sat for a while just to sink into it.

Anyhow what to say they have stolen my heart...I will be going back to spend more time later on...when its not quite so hot.............at a different time of day....I feel there is a lot these horses can teach me.

Here is Splash..the last in the pecking order....she loves to roll around in the sand and scratch her belly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.