More fit for swine than men?.

I got some Jerusalem artichokes my veg box last week. I decided to blip this strange looking one for " Silly Saturday ".  Thanks to admirer for hosting the challenge. 

Never eaten Jerusalem artichokes before - never even seen them before.  I " Googled " to find out the cooking methods and a couple of days ago I has some of them roasted.  I didn't enjoy them at all - the outsides were hard and the middles were mushy.  Today I had the rest of them but this time I boiled them and mashed them with grated cheese.  Much nicer - but I won't be heading to the shops to buy some more.

Despite its name the Jerusalem artichoke has no relationship to Jerusalem and is not a type of artichoke.   The tubers store their carbohydrate as inulin  rather than as starch The inulin cannot be broken down by the human digestive system but it is metabolized by bacteria in the colon. This can cause flatulence and, in some cases, gastric pain. Gerard's Herbal, printed in 1621, quotes the English botanist John Goodyer on Jerusalem artichokes:

" which way soever they be dressed and eaten, they stir and cause a filthy loathsome stinking wind within the body, thereby causing the belly to be pained and tormented, and are a meat more fit for swine than men."

Wish I had known that before I ate them!.

I had a lazy day today and didn't tick much off my " to do " list.  It was a nice sunny day so I walked down to the village this afternoon to get some fresh air.

Steps today - 6,287

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.