Birthday jobs!

Birthdays when you get older are pretty much like any other day in our house. Today Jon 'celebrates' his 53rd Birthday and the day began with archery as normal. I put some bits and pieces in the slow cooker for later, and then cleaned some of the windows until I got bored. The windows don't look any better, they just look smeary now. I think that's why I don't do it very often!

Mum popped round to use my computer to finalise another cruise, and we had coffee together once the boys were back. After lunch, Jon and I went down the allotment to start. So much to do. We had some pallets and set up the water tank, with a very primitive funnel of plastic sheeting. Then we moved the carpet and began to dig. The ground is about 90% clay. It was a hard claggy muddy mess. We did as much as we could, removing the dock roots as we went. At 4 we gave up and went home. Hopefully the bit we dug will break down a bit. And more than that, we really hope it rains and our new funnel thing works and fills up our water tank! Our allotment neighbours have a full tank!

I did a bit of tidying in the back garden, and then we watched an early film off Netflix. The Finest Hours. It was based on a true story of a coast guard rescue and quite gripping. Then the most bizarre of coincidences; at the end in the credits when they told us about the facts of the event, we discovered it was the night of 18th February 1952.

Back to 18th February 2018, as you know it's Jon's birthday. And he is very happy with his present (he chose it) A nice old fashioned traditional tan leather satchel style briefcase.

I bet you didn't guess that Mollie? I will add a photo of It after I've done the blip!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.