I'll just have to be patient.

WHAT?!? Moi? Patient??
:¬O

Endless praise and thanks to Crocus. Ever since I discovered the only divisions within the Genus Galanthus were not limited to "Single" & and Double", I've looked for the affordable different.

1st came Woronowii with its, apparently, highly polished dark shiny green leaves; so different you'd first wonder if they really were Snowdrops.

Then - along came Elwesii, with their huge size & broader leaves.
following that trotted along viridapice with gree markings on its outer petals. thus:-
https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2012693563376142271

I then had one or two abortive attempts at a "yellow one". I finally got my paws on a few "Wendy's Gold".
Here - - https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2148488788039437034

Thanks to Tony G I got in contact with Dryad Nursery:-
http://www.dryad-home.co.uk/gallery/GALANTHUS/Galanthus%20Species%20and%20Cultivars/index.html

Just in time to find out she had a "Do" on Sat & Sunday 17th 18th Feb.
I had my sights set on 1-2 "Earlies". We'll see how early back end of this year. PLUS anything affordable which caught my eye.
Result:-
1. "Galanthus reginae-olgae "Galanthus reginae-olgae is the earliest snowdrop, flowering in October under the plane trees of the Peloponnese in Greece, high in the Taigetos Mountains."


2. (Bear the prices in mind till we reach the end:)-
"Galanthus 'Trymposter'. Galanthus 'Trymposter'. Availability: In Stock. £20.00. Lovely green outer markings. A vigorous bulb that increases quickly.
Back left, (thumbnail) because it caught my eye.


3. "Galanthus Fieldgate Prelude. This beautiful snowdrop is in flower very early in the season, usually at the same time as “Mrs Macnamara” and “Sickle”. The second early one.


4. "And finally Cyril"© AMAZING, when you consider I've never been a fan of "Doubles".
"Galanthus 'Richard Ayres'. Galanthus 'Richard Ayres'. Availability: In Stock. £12.50."

* ~ * ~ * ~ *
Nos. 2&4 alone, logically, ought to have set me back 32 Squids.
To own all four I forked out the princely sum of 20 Quid.


You were RIGHT Tony lad, ebay's NOT for the likes of us.
I only once dabbled therein, forked out a tenner for what looked like a 1/2 developed bulb, wrapped in paper; which I carefully potted & never saw again.


BONUS. During the talk I got to hear most of I learnt the best treatment for the seeds.
One of the earlies has four well developed pods and the other thre are almost certain to have them when they go over.
All in all - WELL worth the visit.
Back upstream.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.