Out of My Comfort Zone*

In one way or another I would have been out of my comfort zone no matter what I did today. My car said it was 26 F degrees when I left the house this morning, so lingering outside was not appealing. Fortunately the heat went on like clockwork this morning despite the frost, but not enough sleep  and the need for a haircut put me out of my comfort zone when it came to a selfie. I often find myself recoiling from the image staring up at me when I inadvertently hit the wrong button which turns the lens on me. On the other hand, wasn't that the challenge?

Further motivated by Lady Findhorn's own selfie of her excellent new glasses and my promise to send her a picture of my new(ish) ones, I found myself grinning vacuously into my phone. Unlike Lady F's handsome frames, I couldn't help feeling that mine made me look rather like a tortoise. Definitely out of my comfort zone by now, I fiddled some more until I made a few discoveries
1. Don't look straight at the camera...it's surprisingly difficult to press the shutter without looking at it....
2. Definitely do not hold the camera under your chin 
3. Get longer arms, but no selfie sticks.I draw the line....
4. Lift chin and look haughty
I think I managed most except for the longer arm part.  I like the reflections in the glasses (and the fact that I don't have to wear them all the time).

In other news...OilMan seems incapable of going out the door without consulting 1) the newspaper weather page  2) the thermometer outside the kitchen door and 3) the weather station mounted on top of the arbor with a digital readout in the living room. 

He has the differences between the three carefully calibrated and is then able to decide what to wear...especially for digging around in the mud which he is still doing. He's given up on statements like...'I think I found the leak' . The ground is littered with plastic hoses, droppers, emitters, tools, weeds, plants that aren't weeds, and mud. 

It has occurred to me that we could tell the weather (well, I could anyway) by glancing at the clothesline outside our bedroom door. Despite becoming a rather permanent fixture, we forgot to bring in the towels last night. 

This morning they were frozen....

*Thanks (I think) to Kanga Zu for coming up with Mono Monday challenges.





I

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.