Tiny Tuesday : : Cold Tiny Birds

The only thing that belies the hopeful signs of spring in this picture is the fact that the tiny birds, who are out in droves at the suet feeder, are puffed up into round balls because of the sub freezing temperatures outside. These three are waiting their turn on a nearby branch and look quite fetching amongst the plum blossoms. I'm afraid there's absolutely nothing sharp about them except perhaps their little toes....

I have often thought what an asset it is to a small business to have employees who learn their customers' names and show an interest in them. I will go out of my way to patronize these places.

I had to take my car in for service today. Back in the days of Wetherford BMW in Berkeley, I hated this chore. OilMan and I  both had to drive through the worst traffic in the morning to take the car in, they always forgot to turn off some light that told me my tire pressure was low or my engine was about to blow up, and the only way to get it turned off was to take it back again. They weren't very nice and had no patience with people who asked questions. Their answers were always opaque and unhelpful. When they refused to accept OilMan's check for a major repair, he threw a rare fit, pointed out that he had used the same checking account to buy two cars from them, and that they would NEVER see us again! He kept his word.

Unlike Wetherford, the people at Hammond Autowerks are great. It is a family run business and they treat us like family too. They know my name, patiently explain the settings I keep asking about, listen to my requests and answer my questions without making me feel stupid. Someone is always available to give me a ride home. They have two SMART cars for the purpose.

Two of the women who work there bring their dogs to work with them, and a third one belonging to a customer joined them today.  The waiting room was full of dog toys just like our living room when I went to pick up my car. I think this is one of the reasons we love Sonoma County. People aren't so full of themselves and are genuinely friendly. 

I'm looking out the window at a plum colored sky which contrasts interestingly with the sun touched tree tops. Despite the cold and the clouds, there is no sign of rain and barely enough moisture to turn to frost overnight. 

We are looking forward to a blip meet tomorrow with EvelyneNC and her husband Don.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.