The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Paperwhites, with Ganesh the Elephant God

I bought the pretty paperwhite flowers yesterday.Their aroma fills the house. The colour background effect was experimental, but I like it, so it shall remain.

The statue of Ganesh, the Indian elephant god, lives on the kitchen windowsill. The first kirtan chant I learned last year was Ganesha Sharanam:


gaṇesha: The elephant-headed god, son of Shiva and Parvati, who is the lord/leader ("Isha") of Shiva's army ("gaṇa"). Shiva's army is made up of all sorts of strange creatures, huligans of heaven ("gaṇa"), as he will use any means, devious or not, to remove ignorance in the devotee.

sharaṇam: To take refuge. In this case, to take refuge in Ganesha.

Ganesh's physical form, wuth his curved elephant trunk and huge body, is absurd. I can take refuge in Ganesh at times of absurdity. Such as now:
I received today two certificates proving the non- existence of a birth certificate, in two different Mexican states, for the man called Miguel A- A- S- in Mexico, who was also my father. He was known as Michael H- C- P- in English-speaking countries.

He wasn't born in Mexico, as I know, but it seems he wasn't 'reborn' there either. At least I hope not.

Ganesha Sharanam
Sharanam Ganesha
https://youtu.be/YamyKO4b2Z0

Maybe our father also prayed to Ganesh.His upbringing in India ensured that India, religion, diverse languages and music were never very far from his mind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.