The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Reflecting on a yellow tea towel

The tea towels were hung out to dry over a rail in the Chinese take away shop, which only opens in the evening. The red pole is also part of the Chinese establishment

The building is the former Co-operative supermarket, which dates back to the Art Deco era, and was refurbished about ten years ago. Several small shops and businesses are housed there now. I've blipped it many times, though not from this angle. Opposite are some of the shops and cafes of Nelson Street. The light was flat, as you can see...

Busy day! Eye test in the morning. I need new readers and distance glasses. Then I did some shopping, went home to do some admin, before Steve took me to work.

At the end of my teaching session, I found that there may not be a class for me next week. Only two students have signed up. This has never happened before.

I was just taking this in when my phone rang. Only it was a What's App call from my half-sister in Mexico. We chatted for a whike after I got home. My Spanish isn't up to much now, every sentence I wanted to use seemed to have a subjunctive in it(Would that the forms were easy to remember)!

My email revealed, coincidentally, that our father's official death certificate has been located. The Mexican "birth" certificate may not exist. Damn! But he was born in Scotland, anyway.

The rest of the evening, I:

* Took tea with the White House owner, who dropped round to say thank you for my house sitting and to give me a present
* Made supper (risotto, as usual)
* Chatted with my brothers, sisters, and half-brother on our various groups

I wish we weren't quite so far-flung. I've ended up wearing a Mexican sarape, partly because my sister in law in Holland was wearing one. And because maybe we're all Mexican, really. Our father certainly came to believe he was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.