Did it!

Tony was heading off to Halifax today to check control sites for an urban orienteering event to be held there later in the year, so I hitched a lift with the intention of having a go at street photography as it's the theme of the final round for our camera club competition.  I'm nervous at doing this kind of thing but I thought the Piece Hall would be a good venue as there are usually lots of folks pointing cameras in there.

It being quite chilly there weren't many folks around so I wandered the floors and fell into conversation with Martin who stopped to ask me about my camera.  He may join Blip so welcome Martin!

Back in the piazza I spotted two children jumping the water features so I wandered over and spent some time there.  It was interesting to see the different attitudes of children and parents around this bit of the Hall.  Some children just went for it, others obviously wanted to but didn't feel confident enough, others were told NOT TO by their parents (grrr!)  I had to smile at a young dad who needed the help of his partner to cross where the children were happily leaping!

It was bitter standing around, even in the sun when it emerged, so I rang Tony and he was ready for a break and a cuppa, which we had in Gin Lane, along with yummy fruity toast.  Then it was time for him to finish visiting the controls so I wandered in to the town centre and through Dean Clough Mills before heading uphill towards home.  An hour and a half later and I had reached Ogden and Tony rang to say he was on his way home and picked me up to save me the last couple of miles.

I'm still lacking confidence with this kind of photography, but it was a good couple of hours spent in the fine surroundings of the Piece Hall, a place I often visited with pals in my teenage years when there were several shops which sold joss sticks and tie dyed t-shirts and Arthur Rackham cards - ah those were the days!

This young man was pleased to be touching solid ground without getting his feet wet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.