Froggy Rescue

It was my turn for breakfast in bed today and I enjoyed listening to Ann Cleeves, a favourite author of ours, on Desert Island Discs.  We must be of a similar age because her music choices:  Bowie, Cohen, Dylan were in tune with mine and her love of Scotland and being scruffy were too!  One of her choices was a Shetland Fiddle Player called Chris Stout and the track evoked the remote beauty of the islands.  I shall be tracking him down on ITunes!  Meanwhile we are enjoying Cleeves' detective Jimmy Perez back on our screens on Tuesday nights. 


On my way out to meet invalided Hobblers Karen and Bev for a very few circuits of the cricket field, I came across a large frog sitting on the steps.  It wasn't the best place for a frog so I called Tony out and he carefully removed it to the pond in the allotment.  He thinks it was laden with eggs.

We enjoyed our gentle run around the field and managed just under a mile before we decided to be sensible and stop there whilst our various injuries held up. 

It's been a stunner of a day so we ate lunch on the patio and then I tried to lure squirrel out of his tree with hazelnuts.  He managed to get about a foot away from me and then took off again, unused to seeing me outside.  The minute I closed the patio door he was down and disappearing with a hazelnut in his mouth. 

Lunch over we went up to the allotment so that Tony could measure it up for his grand plan.  It was great to hear croaking coming from the pond and when I went closer to try blip our new resident I spotted two frogs in there.  Unfortunately, one disappeared underwater so here is just the one, and I don't think this is the rescued one.  Great to have them in the pond and they will be an asset to the allotment if they stay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.