Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Book recommendation

Last night I had a nasty asthma attack and had to take a dose of oral steroids to try to stem the downward spiral. I've seen my GP today and have a 5 day course of prednisolone to take. Hopefully, I will soon be fighting fit again. I felt very wobbly this morning, so I've sat all day catching up on reading.

The book cover in my blip is from an out of date edition that was recommended to us towards the end of our trip. We visited the tribe of the long necked women of Padaung. We also went to the house of Pascal Khoo Thwe and enjoyed hospitality there. Pascal's autobiography is a truly fascinating read.

I have pondered as to whether I would have preferred to read it before meeting him. There would have been some advantages. I would have known much more about his life, in particular the terrible time he spent in the jungle as a student in opposition to the military government of the 1980s. However, reading it now has provided me with many insights into the belief system of his people. I think this may have passed me by before visiting Myanmar.

Pascal's story is a remarkable one. He had a chance meeting with an English professor from Cambridge while he worked as a waiter in Mandalay during his English studies there. Much later, this connection would provide his escape from Thailand and his entry to Cambridge University to study for a degree in English.

So, I've sat and devoured the end of the book. I feel less wobbly and hope the steroids will finish off the wretched wheezing and coughing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.