Cold but sunny again, with promise of Arctic freeze ahead, so that's a good reason to get the bike out for a couple of hours bimbling up to Gloucester and round and ending near Westridge Woods as the Sun went down. Funny how one thing leads inexorably to another, and another…

Recently, Janet visited an elderly relative with a view along the way of updating some of the meagre family tree history on the French side of her family. To date I’ve not looked at her notes to see what she’s found, but it prompted me to see if my family tree software needed an update. I used Family Tree Maker, and it’s about now that I find the company behind it “retired” the software back in 2017. The basic software was bought up by another company, who now want a hundred quid for my custom.

This leads me to note that MacFamilyTree has just offered me a significant discount on their latest version (8.3.1) and so I look at migrating my GEDCOM files across. GEDCOM doesn’t import the photographs, and that gives me a chance to fettle them. They’ve accumulated in a folder with all sorts of unwieldy and nonintuitive file names; now’s a god time to sort that out. Copy the directory into a scratch one for working on it… oh dear. Almost out of disc space on my data HDD. And frankly the HDD is making some noises I don’t much like the sound of.

Let’s have a look. Hmm, 866GB of music files. But they’re duplicated on the Network Server and backed up on another HDD in the fire safe. We could delete them and use the NAS folder for iTunes. But oh my we have to do this right. Double check and synchronise the two folders, one on the iMac and one on the NAS. Change the source folder on the iTunes and select the NAS library. Delete the old folders. All seems well. Empty the waste bin… and iTunes can’t find my music!

I’m going down the pub.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.