A Good Day

What a brilliant day!!
My classes were great this morning - I had that lovely feeling of knowing what I'm doing, being pretty good at it, enjoying it and knowing that everyone was enjoying it too.
I also love the feeling when I get home and can luxuriate in doing nothing because I've been at work!!
I did take Archie out for a lovely walk. It was sunny, there are snowdrops everywhere and it was gorgeous!!
I collected the Little Misses from school and came home for a hurried dinner and some even more hurried 11+ homework from Miss E.
Then it was time to dash over to her 11+ lesson.
Then, not long after leaving, dash home again for her 11+ books. Grrrrrrrrrrrr!!!
We had to have words about taking some responsibility for herself and her things.
And making sure herself and her things are in the same bloody place when they need to be !!
When we eventually got there her teacher gave me the results of the mock 11+ they did the other week. What a clever little sausage she is!!
Apparently they'd expect a child on track to pass the 11+ to get 60% at this point. Miss E got 87%. Whoop whoop!!!!
I'm so proud of her and it was lovely to see her proud of herself for doing so well.
We'll gloss over the bit where her teacher said she has to take more care with her handwriting and sometimes slovenly marks on the paper. She marked stuff right where the computer might not recognise the answers as right.
I'll also gloss over the part where - on the way to her 11+ lesson after we'd already been back for her books - she started wailing that she'd forgotten to enter her story into the BBC's 500 Words competition. 
She'd written it but the deadline was 7pm tonight - just the time her lesson ends. She was genuinely distraught having made such an effort with her story.
Did she have her iPad with her so I could enter it for her? Of course not!!! 
So it was a mad dash home (could I ever go anywhere and not have to dash?!!) to log into her iPad, find her story, email it to myself, register on the 500 Words website, try to upload the story, jump back in the car and head back to get Miss E.
The website kept crashing - because it was twenty minutes before the deadline!! - and I couldn't upload the story. So I brought my laptop with me, picked up Mr K from the bus stop and got him to sort it out on our way to get Miss E.
It was submitted with minutes to spare. Whoop whoop!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.