Stourhead

I bet Stourhead Gardens look a bit different today. I'm writing this a week later, surrounded by snow and ice!!
But back to last Friday!
I dropped the Little Misses off at school and then happily set off for a pootle around the most of the South West. 
Mrs C and I were meeting at Stourhead National Trust Gardens and my SatNav took me via Andover and then across on the A303. It was glorious sunshine and such beautiful countryside to drive through!
And the icing on the cake was when I went over the brow of a hill and there before me, in all its glory, was Stonehenge!
I wasn't expecting to see that when I woke up this morning!!
I had to laugh as I went further along the road - the signs were for Taunton, Exteter and Plymouth. I worried for a minute that I'd put in the wrong postcode and was heading towards deepest Devon!
But all was well and I got to Stourhead eventually and met Mrs C.
What a beautiful place! It's so nice to go to new National Trust places which are that gorgeous!
We had a lovely - if cold - walk. It was sunny and everywhere looked stunning. We loved the follies, Gothic cottages, grottos and boathouses. We liked the look of the Temple of Apollo but couldn't be bothered to walk up there!!
We had a yummy lunch in the Spread Eagle Inn on the estate. I felt like I was in Pride and Prejudice (which I've discovered was filmed there and will be making Mr K watch with me very soon!!)
Then it was time to get back to Bath to Mrs C's new house. It's an understatement to say that I'm jealous!!! A beautiful house in a spectacular location and newly refurbished by the very clever Mr M. With lots of help from Mrs C! They have new stairs, underfloor heating, a new kitchen and a new bathroom. All in the time it's taken us to put up some shelves in the living room and talk endlessly about what else needs doing around the house!!
I drank tea and chatted to Mr M while Mrs C went to get the boys from school. Then I drank tea and chatted to Mrs C until it was time to go. It got pretty late as I didn't feel like driving up the M4 on Friday evening so kept putting it off.
I woke up at 5am this morning and couldn't get back to sleep so I was pretty tired when I got home at 9pm and was in bed by 9.15pm!!
Stonehenge, Stourhead and Mrs C. What a lovely day!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.