Chilly paws

Of course the predicted snow fall arrived, with the predicted disruption hot (cold?) on its tail! It certainly disrupted my day. I knew when I woke up that we had had the promised deluge, as I do not close my bedroom curtains, and there was an unnatural brightness for 6.15am in February streaming in to my room.

I checked the train timetable and although trains had been cancelled, there should have been one at 8.33 to get in the Norwich an hour later. Jon drove me and the roads were horrendous. I wasn’t put off, but we did pull in at the top of the hill and managed to do it without skidding. I walked down the hill, but no trains. I was also getting real time info from James in Norwich telling me it was turning more blizzard like there. So I went into Morrison’s to panic buy 2 loaves of bread and a newspaper. Then rang Jon who was in the process of making his way home. He had to turn round and come back to get me. As I walked back up the hill a van was stuck. I was glad I hadn’t made Jon drive all the way down. Having lived on the hill at Wandlebury for 12 years I remember people getting stuck in the snow, and abandoning their vehicles. I didn’t want that to be us, as it is a fair walk home from Cromer. Henry’s school was closed and Jon worked from home. So 3 of us at home.

I didn’t want to put the heating on, so went out to saw up some wood. With a nice roaring fire sorted I went to check on the chickens, followed by Ralph who was intrigued by the snow.

I can’t really work out what I did to waste the rest of the day. I watched a couple more episodes of The Crown, with Ralph close by. He kept jumping up on to the windowsill and just stared out at the whiteness. Then he’d come back to sit with me by the fire. We watched the film Chicken Run!

The fire is still going, and it is cosy. But it is boring at home. I really need to be at work as I have a long list of things I want to get done. As any hours I am not there will need to be made up, I will now swap my flexi day that I’d booked on Monday to today. I’ve got to try and get in tomorrow, but I’m not driving if the roads haven’t improved. So I’ve just got to hope for a thaw tonight!! It is very frustrating as I think if we were more advanced at Norfolk CC with flexible working, like there are lots of things I could do from home or an office close by! Give them 20 years and they might have caught up...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.