Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Drift

More snow fell through the night and the wind picked up. Uni was shut again, so it was another day to work at home; I'm luckier than many in being able to get on with stuff remotely. All the schools in Bradford were shut too, although the kids were with their Mum today. All closures are continuing tomorrow and it will be my turn to keep 10yo and 13yo fed, warm and entertained.

I went up on the moor for an hour or so to check out the drifts. They were impressive, but not yet on the scale of March 2013. In this image I was in the lane leading up from Hope Farm to Hope Gate. Five years ago it was completely choked with snow, today it was about half full, banked up to the top of the wall on the eastern side. This is the field that the sheep live in (indeed almost the same spot as this blip from a couple of weeks ago) , and it was good to see that they'd been taken in before the weather hit.

As yesterday, I've added a small portfolio of extras. It doesn't snow like this every day.

Oh, and Happy St David's Day. I usually try to blip a daffodil on my national saints day, but I couldn't find any this year, except in the Co-op. They had lots of daffodils, but no bread.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.