TULIP

My online grocery delivery from Morrisons was due last evening between 9pm and 10pm. The driver arrived around 8.30pm.  As he was handing me the bags I asked what the road conditions were like - he said they weren't too bad.  I assumed he had just come from our local Morrisons in Blaydon - around 3 miles away.  However he had actually travelled from Hartlepool - around 35 miles away.  So well done to him for getting my groceries to me when I had seen on social media that a lot of supermarkets had suspended deliveries - even local ones..

This is one of the tulips I bought at the local greengrocers on Wednesday.  So pretty. Thanks as usual to BikerBear for hosting Flower Friday.

I needed to post a couple of letters before noon  for my Post Survey.  So I wrapped up warmly.  I slipped some special ice gripper things on to my boots.  There wasn't any ice.  However there was a lot of deep snow which in places had been churned up and was difficult to walk on.  No slush as it hasn't been warm enough to turn the snow to slush. It was heavy going walking to the village.  Hardly and cars about and not many people either.

After posting my letters I popped into Tesco.  I thought I might just get some salmon.  There was none.  There was no fish at all.  And no fresh meat, no milk, no fruit  and no bread.  Bare shelves all over the place. They were obviously missing a delivery.  So I came out empty handed.  I did get a couple of things in Greggs for my lunch.  A wonderful sausage roll  -  Greggs sausage rolls are the best -  and a baguette filled with chicken, bacon and mayo which was also delicious.

After lunch I did a few household chores and then at 3pm I decided to go back to bed as I had a headache and felt tired.  I slept till 6pm. Felt better when I got up.

The News has been full of doom and gloom regarding the weather. Roads blocked, transport up the creek, villages cut off, farmers trying to feed their animals in atrocious conditions etc.  And there have been heartwarming stories of people going to great lengths to help others. I do hope things start improving soon.  Had enough of snow now.

Steps today - 7,336

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.