LILY

Slept late as I feel as if I have caught a bit of a cold.  Haven't been able to get warm all day.  The hot water bottle has been taken into use. 

After lunch I popped round to see my neighbours Cathie and Ron who live next door but one.  I have known them for over 55 years as I went to school with their daughter Christine.  They have lived in the same house all that time.  Christine died a few years ago.    I bumped into Cathie on Tuesday when I was in The Metrocentre  and she wanted to tell me something - but she wanted to tell me at home.  She asked whether I would go home with her in the taxi she had booked but as I had only just arrived at The Metrocentre it wasn't really convenient.  So I told her I would pop round this afternoon.  I got the feeling it was bad news............ and it was.

She told me that their son Paul had died of a heart attack on Christmas Eve.  Such a tragedy.  He was 63.  He lived in New Zealand - he has been there for many many years.  He leaves a widow and two children - Constance the youngest is only 16.  So Cathie and Ron have lost both their children.  Sad times.

Cathie is 88 years old and is very frail.  She has osteoporosis and her spine is particularly bad, she has a heart condition, poor eyesight and poor hearing.  However she is bright as a button and on the ball.  Ron is 91 and he isn't quite so frail as his wife but he is a bit unsteady on his feet and he doesn't go out much these days.

I was there for 3 hours reminiscing and looking at old photos.     Cathie always likes to chat with me especially about Christine as there is hardly anyone around here who remembers her as   Christine, her husband and son moved to Worcestershire many years ago.   

When I got back from Ron and Cathie's Tino came running as usual but I couldn't find Lily.  Looked in all the usual places and then I noticed a lump in one of the  " Cat  Boxes ".  Lifted the fleece blanket and a little head peeped out.  So that is my blip shot.  I did a bit of processing in Picasa. ( Zoom and Posterise).  Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting Abstract Thursday.

Just having a quiet evening watching TV. 

Steps today -   4.068

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.