Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Fungal Lurgy!

There is a rampant lurgy on the loose in our house (yes, ANOTHER one)!!!

When I first posted a picture of this one on facebook (when it was somewhat angrier than it is now), suggestions for its identity varied wildly, and eventually we decided that it must be plague. I sang "Ring-a-ring-a-Roses" a few times, and thought it might soon be time to print a red cross off on the colour printer and blu-tac it to the front door!!!!

The current diagnosis is actually ringworm. It appears that the rash the Wonderspouse had a week or so ago was the same, although the doc didn't diagnose it as such and gave him some cream that didn't help at all. By this time it had already been passed on to me. I'm using antifungals, which seem to be working. Apparently adult humans are likely to get it when their immune system isn't working very well - that would be us then.

We're not that bothered about us, but today I noticed that my gorgeous little rat Reacher has an itchy bald spot on his back. So I took him to the vet this evening. The vet will run a culture and then analyse it, and we'll have a definitive answer. In the meantime, Reacher has ointment for his back and I'll have to do a complete disinfect of the cage.

As for the rest of the day, working backwards, this afternoon I went out to pick up a few bits and pieces - odds and ends for the hamsters, who are now at the stage where they're going to be moving into their own homes. I walked fairly briskly across the retail park and almost passed out when I got back to the car - the flu really has sapped my usual energy - I can usually walk around almost infinitely on pavements and so on without really noticing.

This morning was spent at my desk, catching up on some of the more urgent bits of paperwork and so on. There's so much to do after months and months of chaos and illness that it sometimes feels like we'll never get there, but we'll keep on trying!

And in the meantime, we have the lurgy to fight, which will also keep us busy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.