TREES

There has been a slight thaw today but there's still lots of snow around. I had two reasons to go out today.  Firstly I wanted to go to Tesco for a bit of shopping - and secondly I wanted to go to my Grandma's grave. Her name was Jessie Bracey and she was born on 4th March 1900 so I wanted to visit on her birthday.

So I set off to walk to the village.  I had the " grippy things " on the bottom of my boots and they proved necessary.  Still lots of deep snow around even on well used paths.  Got want I wanted in Tesco - fruit and salmon.

Then onwards to Garden House cemetery - its all downhill from my house to the cemetery ( and uphill going home of course ) and some of the streets are quite steep.  But walking wasn't too bad.

The snow in the cemetery was quite deep in parts where no-one had walked.  Found Grandma's grave - its right at the bottom of the cemetery, and put some flowers there as well as some butterflies on sticks.  Not sure how long the butterflies will last but at least she has them on her birthday.  The blip shot on the left shows some of the tall trees in the cemetery.

Then I began the long haul uphill to get home.  It had been foggy all day but as I walked home the fog got a lot worse.  You can see how bad it was when I reached the Glebe football pitch in the right hand blip shot.

Have added three more photos in Extras - Grandma's grave, the butterflies and the Chapel.

So pleased I got out and about today after a day indoors yesterday.  Spent this evening watching TV - Dancing on Ice and Endeavour.  Recorded Call the Midwife which I will watch later on. 

PS  Becky and Mike ran from their house to Brighton this morning - 12 miles.  Then they ran up to Ovendean and back to Brighton - 19 miles in total.  Then they got the train home.  Then they ran the mile from the station to their house. They must be crackers.

Steps today - 13,339

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.