Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

JR to the rescue

Gym ✔️

Lots of slush around. Most unpleasant. But at least the pavements are now walkable.

I tried to ring the council to complain about the humming wall caused by the electricity box on the other side, but I couldn’t get through. I filled in a complaint from.

JR and Archie were going for a walk up the hill, and I decided to accompany them for part of the way at least, though I was very careful on the slushy parts.

As we came round the duck pond, Archie was off the lead, but he was showing an interest in the ducks, and kept looking in the pond.

Yes, the inevitable happened. He was quite far ahead of us, not in view, when CRACK! There he was, half in the cold water, hanging on for dear life, looking pathetic.

JR sprang into action grabbed hold of a nearby tree and stepped in, filling her boots with the stinky icy water. But she was able to grab hold of his collar and drag him to dry land. Phew! Just as well I was there to help record the incident.

After emptying her boots, she continued with the walk, while I decided that was enough excitement for me, and came home. I did 6,233 steps, which is better than nothing.

We're all warmed up now, and the fire is glowing. A newly baked loaf was enjoyed for a late lunch. Archie is twitching a bit while sleeping on my lap. Perhaps he's dreaming of his adventure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.